Published: March 31, 2020 | Updated: March 31, 2020

History made as for the first time in 104 years town chamber holds annual meeting via video

Roger Smith, President of Bournemouth Chamber of Trade and Commerce, from 2018 to 2020.
By Andrew Diprose, editor

History will be made today, Wednesday April 1, by Bournemouth Chamber of Trade & Commerce (BCTC).

For the first time in its proud 104-year history the chamber is to hold an annual general meeting by video conference.

It’s a legal requirement to stage the meeting, which should have taken place two weeks ago.

However, the government’s coronavirus advice means that it cannot be held in person.

The evening begins at 6pm with the naming of the new incoming President.

Roger Smith, the current BCTC President, has served two years in the post.

Heather Martyn has been nominated for the role by both the Executive Board and the Past Presidents.

Only members with their membership paid and up to date for 2020 are eligible to vote.

Anyone wishing to attend, via video conferencing only, should register their interest by emailing

They will then be advised on the necessary links for access.

The nominees for the 2020/21 positions are:


Heather Martyn

Vice Presidents:

Jacqui Rock

Nikie Dady

Honorary Treasurer:

Nikie Dady

Honorary Accountant:

Taylorcocks Chartered Accountants

Honorary Solicitor:

Rawlins Davy

Executive Directors (Board):

Efe Ohwofasa

Bill Perkins

Mandy Pike

Annabel Poate-Joyner

Simon Polkey

Sue Reid

Roger Smith (Past President)

Paul Thompson

Nomination of Chief Executive Officer (CEO):

The voluntary role of CEO has been voted in by the Executive Board of Directors. The role has been added to the normal 0fficers structure in order to add continuation and strategic support to the Executive Board of Directors. The first person to be nominated for the role of CEO by the Board of Directors is Mandy Jane Polkey.